Amusement

I was reading ‘a graduate school survival guide’ by Ronald T. Azuma, a Computer Science graduate in the states.  I quote him:

“You don’t have to be a genius to do well in graduate school. You must be reasonably intelligent…”

AMEN to that! 🙂 So whoever says ‘PhD?!?!?! wahhhh, you’re so smart!!’ I shall direct them to this website and zoom this sentence into their face.  It’s just that I have chosen research as my career and hence, PhD is necessary, unfortunately for me.

Alright, not to say that I hate research, not to say that I hate working (ok ok, I admit, I prefer not to work), I’m just saying that if I need to have a career in the first place, this 4-year sacrifice of living under the poverty line is necessary.  I just hope people understand and stop viewing me as a psycho (nearly there, no doubt!) wanting to just avoid work and think I’m too smart for anything but this.

Published in: on January 26, 2010 at 12:05 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://meandmywords.wordpress.com/2010/01/26/amusement/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

